## **Honorary Membership Committee**

**Committee Members:** E. J. Heske, E. A. Lacey, M. A. Mares, R. M. Timm, S. McLaren (Chair).

## Mission:

The purpose of the Honorary Membership Committee is to present credentials of potential honorary members for consideration by the membership at the Annual Members' Meeting. Honorary Membership, which is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, recognizes eminent mammalogists who have rendered "distinguished service to the science of mammalogy." The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the five most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior member of that group. The Committee welcomes nominations from ASM members. Nominations may be made to any Committee Member.

## **Information Items:**

(1) Honorary Membership is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, and is given in recognition of distinguished service to mammalogy. The latter commonly encompasses contributions in research, in teaching and mentoring students, and cultivating the science itself.

(2) Election as an Honorary Member involves several steps. First, the Honorary Membership Committee considers the records of nominees, based on a letter of nomination, supporting letters, and a CV. Nominations supported by at least four Committee Members are forwarded to the Board of Directors for another set of votes. Nominated individuals approved by at least 3/4s of those Board members voting are brought before the membership at the Annual Members' Meeting. ASM members may elect nominees that have been approved by the Committee and Board by a voice vote following a brief presentation of their credentials.

(3) The Committee forwarded one nomination for Honorary Membership in the American Society of Mammalogists to President Sikes and he circulated it to the Board for review.

(4) During the Members' Meeting, the Committee will move to elect this candidate if approved by the Board of Directors.

(5) The Honorary Membership Committee requests and welcomes nominations from the membership. Please direct nominations to the Committee Chair or any of the other Committee Members.

(6) Kay E. Holekamp, Department of Zoology, Michigan State University was elected to Honorary Membership at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

Action Items: None.

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne B. McLaren, Chair (mclarens@CarnegieMNH.org)